The Institute for Philosophy and Science of Art(IPSA)was founded in 2012 based on the wish of the first Director who prayed for the happiness for humankind and the realization of world peace. Facing the underlying questions of the university’s founding principle of “a future built on the arts” which asks “What is art?” and “What are humans?” our mission has three themes: a bridge between science and art, the role of art in society, and the impact of art on the mind of humans. We take a multidisciplinary approach to clarify them, including the humanities and social and behavioral sciences in order to contribute to the realization of the principle of “a future built on the arts”.


Director Sakiko Yoshikawa (President, Kyoto University of Arts)
Professor Hiroshi Yoshioka
Masahiro Miwa
Aya Saito
Associate Professor Ariyoshi Mitamura
Asuka Tosaka
Lecturer Yukiko Umezaki
Concurrent Professor Kenji Yanobe (Professor, Kyoto University of the Arts)
Miyako Otsuji (Professor, Kyoto University of the Arts)
Visiting Professor Kazuo Oike(Director, Kyoto University of the Arts)
Waro Kishi(Architect)
Mutsumi Nishida (President, University of the Ryukyus)
Kayo Miura (Emeritus Professor, Kyushu University)
Kazunari Shibata (Emeritus Professor, Kyoto University)
Shiro Kohshima (Emeritus Professor, Kyoto University)
Shinsuke Shimojo (Professor, California Institute of Technology)
Satoshi Sakai (Vice-president, University of Shizuoka)
Takakazu Yumoto (Emeritus Professor, Kyoto University)
Masafumi Komatsu (Professor, Kyoto Seika University)
Visiting Associate Professor Misato Hayashi(Associate Professor, Chubu Gakuin University)


Yasushi Akashi Former Special Representative to Secretary-General United Nations / Chairman, International House of Japan
Kazuo Oike Director, International Institute for Advanced Studies / Adviser , Uryuyama Academic Foundation
Kengo Kuma President, Kengo Kuma & Associates / Professor, the University of Tokyo
Ryusho Kobayashi High Priest, Hieizan Enryakuji
Shochoku Tokuyama Chairman, Uryuyama Academic Foundation

(as of October 27, 2012)